Viking Forum banner
1 - 20 of 34 Posts

·
Registered
2017 Viking EPS
257 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm still a FNG here on the Viking forum but I've been riding Yamahas since I was 10 years old. Most of my family and friends are Yamaha guys too. I picked up my Viking a little while back after getting tired of my Wolverine Rspec and the oil burning issues. I've been doing a few upgrades along the way and I'm getting it dialed in the way I want it.

Last weekend and we did some wrenching and maintenance at my brother's place. Did some CVT service on a couple and installed slug kits in all 5 of the Vikings in the picture. It was a really fun day.

·
Registered
2020 Yamaha Viking EPS
1,368 Posts
Wow very cool stable of Vikings. Never seen a Viking with rear seats in the bed. What do you like most about the slug kits?

·
Registered
7,300 Posts
Wow! I wish you would come here and install a new slugged clutch.

Sent from my SM-F707U using Tapatalk

Reactions: MNDirtRider

·
Registered
2017 Viking EPS
257 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Wow very cool stable of Vikings. Never seen a Viking with rear seats in the bed. What do you like most about the slug kits?
The slug kits engages the wet clutch shoes at a lower RPM and makes the shoes bite harder at engagement. This equals less slippage on slow take-offs and prolongs the life of the wet clutch shoes. To me, it makes the already outstanding Yamaha wet clutch/CVT system even smoother on take-off. It's particularly noticeable in slow stop-n-go technical riding, loading on the trailer, or backing out of the garage. It removes the jerkiness in reverse particularly well. I had my Wolverine slugged too so I'm a fan.

·
Registered
2017 Viking EPS
257 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
Nice upgrade for sure. What part of MN are you guys from?