Viking Forum banner

Service schedule

17K views 16 replies 9 participants last post by  cactus 
#1 ·
When is everybody changing there oil and diff fluid?? I mean I did the first service 200mi/20hr one but when again?? And how often after that?? Anybody have a knowledgable answer?

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

#5 ·
Yea I think I'll do my diffs every time too.. I'll have to read up in my book on the schedules didn't see em the first time

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

#6 ·
its kinda preference if you don't follow book ... I change mine every oil change and I do them regardless of miles or hours . I do mine every 500 miles or 25 hours. if I do some swamp riding I do it sooner. prob overkill but make me feel better.

#7 ·
Oil can typically be checked by smelling it and rubbing between two fingers to determine "stickiness" or see if there's a burnt smell. Not everybody's choice, but I've been a mechanic all my life and that's how I check it to ensure it doesn't go bad. I typically change the oil and filter once every year. At the same time, I change both diff's, the air filter AND, most importently, the CVT Belt. I rarely hit any water, but I do drive in snow during hunting season.

#8 ·
You change the belt every year?

#9 ·
I've had bad luck with breakage of those belts. I typically carry a spare and all the tools needed. I use the heavy duty belts, but I've noticed that both times it broke, I was at high speed....near 50mph. This last belt didn't even last a year. The ride has just 8K miles on it so I'm thinking the clutch should be good still. I'm going to start changing the belt just prior to leaving for hunting camp as I want to be able to trust it for the month long trip.

#10 ·
Are you using oem belts? I’ve never heard of one failing unless the sheave maintenance has been overdue. When was the last time you serviced those? Especially the secondary? General consensus is that the Yamaha oem belt is the best.

#12 ·