Viking Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
About a month back I was out cruising around and we stopped for lunch and the Viking wouldn't start. I thought it was a low battery or something so we jumped it and it was good to go. No problems since then.....
Cut to this weekend and I was going through a creek crossing and hit a deep spot and lost traction. I shut the engine off before the intake was underwater because I am new at this and thought that was the best course of action. After we pulled it out, I drained the belt housing and checked the oil... didn't have any water in it that I could tell and it looked like brand new oil. I let it sit for about and hour and then rechecked.

No water in oil.... I didn't have the tools to pull the plug out and we were in the middle of nowhere. So I tried starting it and nothing. The starter relay didn't click and nothing happened. I got a error code 12 on the screen and my battery was around 9 when I had the key on to crank. Someone came by with a jump box and we tried to jump it.. Nothing, no sound from the engine trying to turn over and no click from the relay. I still have the error code 12 to this point. Oil has been changed.

So we tried to jump the starter directly. Nothing. The starter sparked but no noise from the starter. After I got towed back to the trailer I tried to jump the relay and see if it would start that way. Nope.

Jump to last night. I pulled the dipstick again and low and behold, light tan, water mixed oil..... Did I screw up by trying to start it and there's no sound from any starter components because the engine is seized? How can I check to see if the engine is hydro-locked if the starter system isn't functioning properly? Should I start with changing the relay or the actual starter to find out if the engine is good?

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter #5