Viking Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am new to off road and UTVs and was wondering if most users put flat prevention liquid in tires <like SLIME> or not. What is recommended... ?
We are picking up our new Viking Tuesday.

·
Premium Member
3,378 Posts
First off, congrads, be sure to post up some pics when you get it!!

I haven't heard of anyone running that slime or anything like it in there Viking tires.

·
Administrator
1,800 Posts
Congrats on the new machine.

I have seen guys on here that use it, and many guys in the field as well. I used it years ago, but not really a big fan anymore.

I carry fix a flat, a tire repair kit, and a compressor. Hopefully I wont need anymore than that.

·
Registered
86 Posts
I bought and installed 8 ply tires (wanted 12 ply, but weight and cost overruled) and put 24oz of Slime in each tire. Has already paid off as I picked up a large mesquite thorn. When I pulled it out, it hissed air initially, and as far I can tell, it lost about 1/2 lb of air. That was three weeks ago and tire pressure has remained steady, and inflated. I don't necessarily like Slime, but on my property with lots of Huisache and Mesquite, it is a necessity.

·
Registered
128 Posts
I live in south Texas and hunt near Laredo. Pretty much everything that grows there has a thorn. The worst are mesquite trees. Tire sealer is a requirement. I ran Slime in my Honda Rincon from the time it was new in 2005 until I sold it last week. The stock tires only made it 2 yrs, but I put Bighorns with Slime on it after that and ran it 7 more years with no flats. When I replaced the stock tires, it was amazing how many thorns were in them that I didn't know about.