LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 13 (permalink) Unread 09-29-2019, 09:50 PM Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 40 Post(s)
Garage
(Thread Starter)
Died on a mountain side.

As many know, I have been building up my Search and Rescue 2015 EPS for the better of 7 months. This last two weeks, I took it out on a shake down workout during archery elk season. It ran really great and took all of the off road trails and open skid trails without a wink for 95 miles hard driving, * * * until mile number 96, then it fell apart 10 miles off main dirt road. I was slowing from 8 mph to 3 mph and all of a sudden I had a loud squealing sound from my rear end or clutch area with the smell of burning rubber ( presumed that to be the drive belt). I babied it back the twenty miles to camp and shut it down to cool off. The next day, while in neutral, I rev it up and the belt starts to smell and smoke again. I had to winch the unit onto the trailer as the drive gear would not move forward or backward with the engine itself. I am home now and will start tearing it down tomorrow to see how much and what damage was done to the unit. I also hope to figure out if the clutch belt burning was the problem, or a result of the problem. I really put a lot of time and effort into building this thing up correctly so am sort of bummed out, but **** happens (as they say).
post #2 of 13 (permalink) Unread 09-30-2019, 06:47 AM
Administrator

Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Quoted: 141 Post(s)
Sounds like a belt

Let us know what ya find
post #3 of 13 (permalink) Unread 09-30-2019, 07:22 PM Thread Starter

Garage
(Thread Starter)